Seal of Approval

I’m dead happy today. I’m not entirely sure why. 

Nevertheless, my fantastic mood has inspired me to spontaneously write about all the stuff that I’ve recently discovered or rediscovered, which I now love. I feel like I’ve done a lot of discovering in the last few weeks – from coffeehouses to hobbies and music. Here is my official list of stuff that I currently love.

 

Prince Charles Cinema, Leicester Square
This is no ordinary cinema. A friend of mine introduced me to it a couple of weeks ago when he took me to a screening of the apparent worst film of all time, The Room. If you haven’t seen this film, I strongly suggest you do. It is pretty much like this clip here the whole way through. So, so funny. And no, it was not supposed to be funny. 
But anyway, the PCC! They run movie marathons that can go on for several days or so I hear, quotealongs (I fully intend to go and see the Anchorman quotealong in March), theme nights, the whole shebang. Definitely worth checking out. http://www.princecharlescinema.com/

Nude Espresso, Brick Lane
I was looking around Old Spitalfields Market one Sunday morning a few weeks ago when I got a text from my friend who lived in the area. I told him where I was and that I planned to pop into Costa with my friends for a coffee. This was probably the best mistake I could’ve made. Now, my friend has made no secret of the fact that he can’t stand Starbucks or Costa and is possibly what you might call (or what I definitely do call) a coffee snob. I’d never actually understood it until that day. Coffee is coffee, right? Wrong. He made it his duty to rescue me from Costa and show me the light. I met him at this little place on Hanbury Street which was absolutely crawling with hipsters. But, in East London, that’s not exactly unusual. It was so full inside that people were actually sitting on the doorstep, clutching coffee cups like they were homeless. As I carefully picked my way through the human barrage, I realised that if people would go as far as to sit outside at the beginning of February, this place couldn’t be half bad. I was correct. The two lattes I had made Starbucks taste like dishwater. I have been converted.
If you’re a lover of coffee and are in that general area, I’d definitely give it a try! 

Phoenix’s new album
…Which has not yet been released. Ok, I know it seems nonsensical to give something the seal of approval before it actually exists, but guys, I just know it’s going to be really good! I can feel it! 
When I discovered they were releasing a new album, I nearly died. I love Phoenix. They’re French and delicious-sounding. Their songs are sublime, especially when sung in that glorious accent. 
I’ll admit that there was some initial apprehension, too. When you love more or less every song a band has ever done in the past, there is a lot of pressure on their new stuff to be equally as awe inspiring. But you also think “how are they supposed to match that?!” Well, it seems they have delivered. I first heard their new song, Entertainment, earlier today. After that, all my apprehension melted away. Just as fantastic as their older stuff. 
If you have not yet become a fan of Phoenix, I strongly recommend you get on it. My favourite tunes of theirs are Rally, If I Ever Feel Better, 1901 and Sometimes in the Fall. Go listen! Go now! 

Baking
My friend Hannah and I have always had this pipedream of moving to a lovely hot, sunny country and setting up our own cupcake business. (How awesome would it be, though?!)
So my mum decided that she would humour us, and for Christmas she got me a book on baking. Probably a big mistake. So far I imagine I’ve spent a small fortune on cake ingredients and equipment. My kitchen is now more or less constantly covered in flour, cocoa powder, sugar and icing. 
Here is one of my most recent and successful creations. No honestly, I really didn’t mind spending Valentine’s day alone. Not at all. 

Adam Ellis’s blog
Or to give it its full title, Books of Adam. Adam is an American writer/blogger/illustrator and one of the funniest people I’ve ever read. I say ‘read’ because I’ve never actually had the pleasure of meeting him, so reading will have to suffice. I also realised this morning that he shares the same view of the Friendzone as I do (see his Twitter for reference – @mobydickhead, my earlier post ‘Friendzone’ for confirmation). 
I’ve been following his blog for a while, but I thought it was definitely worth a mention. His posts are wonderfully illustrated, hilarious observations of his life and the world at large. 
If that doesn’t sell it for you, he is also, to quote Zoolander, really, really, really, ridiculously good looking. Well, that felt creepy to write, but it’s definitely true. Sorry, Adam.
Have a look for yourselves – http://www.booksofadam.com

Other stuff
Marc Jacobs’ “Dot” perfume. 1001 Nights, apple & cinnamon and lemon & ginger flavoured teas. Lena Dunham. Yoga pants. Tapas. Live comedy. And the fact that my mum ‘gets’ Peep Show and I now have someone to watch it with. 

Z. x

One thought on “Seal of Approval

  1. I love it when your happy! My guess is you’re feeling strong!!
    And a few sessions with front squats C/J can really make you appreciate other things in life🙂
    Good reading, good music, good friend, happy lifting. Maybe you are finding the right balance.
    Take good care of yourself and pls visit your blog soon again.

Leave a Reply

