V Festival, marking the beginning of my ‘real’ summer

Good news, I finally got the chance to do something normal this summer!
This is really a delayed post from Monday. But seeing as this morning was my first proper chance to sit down and add the finishing touches to this blog, I thought “better late than never”. Am I right?

But anyway, I went to V festival at the weekend, it was great! It actually felt like summer, too. The sun was shining, so naturally, everyone took the opportunity to wear basically nothing. Myself included.
Decided to rock the short shorts as it was a scorcher, and I’m pretty sure that’s why a few people recognised me as ‘the weightlifter’ – the quads. They could ONLY belong to someone that squats! I was secretly kinda proud.

I managed to wrangle myself a pass into the Louder Lounge hospitality area too. Well, I say that, my agent did all the work – hero. It was pretty awesome to wander round bumping into celebs –  I was buzzed to see James Buckley and Blake Harrison, who you may know as Jay and Neil from The Inbetweeners, in there. I’m actually a bit annoyed at myself for playing it as cool as I did (if I do say so myself!) as a part of me wanted to turn into a gigantic fangirl and bother them for a photo. But I couldn’t, as I was in the Louder Lounge, which means I had to pretend to be cool. Alongside them I saw two of the boys from One Direction (although which ones I’m not 100% sure!), Caroline Flack, Kelly Brook (who both looked fantastic despite being at a festival) and many more.

Although there was a Mac makeup tent and some sort of hairdressers on offer, I stupidly decided to rough it all weekend, forget all this ‘glamping’ business. This meant that the majority of the time I had no option but to wear a hat – my hair genuinely looked like a birds nest. I’m being serious, I couldn’t properly get a brush through it! My friend Martina and I camped in red camp next to some amusing Irish guys who arrived in the dark on the Thursday evening. Never have I laughed so much at five guys trying to put up a tent. The end result, which we saw properly in the morning, was hilarious. It sort of sagged in the middle and didn’t really resemble a tent much at all. I felt like an experienced tent putter-upper for a moment whilst looking at it from the comfort of my palace. It did look and feel like a palace in comparison. That was until I remembered that I brought a pop-up tent – those things are impossible to get down, by the way! – and I even managed to forget to bring tent pegs so I just had to pray that my bag would stop it flying away while I wasn’t in it. Not so expert after all…

While I love going to festivals (been to Reading for the past 2 years and Hop Farm last year), there are certain elements that annoy me. Yes, I know. Everything annoys me. But you are choosing to read my blog, and by now I’ve written enough of them that you should know what to expect😉
One of the various things that annoy me about festivals is how slowly everyone walks. Most of the time I was trying to weave through them all – this is the one time that being on the fairly short side is useful. When we finally did slow down to snail’s pace like everyone else, a guy told us to “hurry up, short people. Get a move on”. A short guy, may I add. Hypocrite. Rude festival-goers are the worst. Just be nice for christ sakes! Oh, and while you’re at it, please don’t try to sell me drugs either. Yeah, that happened. A guy who looked like he hadn’t slept for 4 days due to being absolutely wired asked me if I wanted to buy some MDMA. He also asked me if I did the Olympics. Surely the fact that I did the Olympics would suggest that no, I do not want to take any drugs due to the fact that I get tested for that kind of stuff on a regular basis, Mr drug dealer man. Never really understood all of that, anyway. Maybe it’s just me, but I always feel so excited just to be at a festival with great music and occasionally sunshine, that I feel almost ‘high on life’. I think if I took anything like that, I’d probably become so overexcited that I’d have a heart attack and die.

All in all, though, I had a wicked time. My favourite act has to be between The Killers, David Guetta and Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds. Bit of a mix, but they were all great! I am also impressed that it was sunny enough for me to get bra strap and wristband tan lines. Martina managed to get shorts tan lines, always a glamorous look!

I’m supposed to be heading to Reading festival this weekend although I think I’m only gonna go on the Saturday now though. I think the Cribs are playing that day, and they are one of my favourite bands ever. But I can’t be dealing with living out a tent for another weekend. It hurts and it stinks. Why do I enjoy this?!

That’s pretty much all for now, not my most interesting of blogs but just thought I’d check in cause I just knew you’d all be missing me. Obviously…

Hope everybody has a fantasitc bank holiday weekend!

Z. x

5 thoughts on “V Festival, marking the beginning of my ‘real’ summer

  1. I tweeted you saying you hadnt blogged in a while, had an excitable moment when I saw this, felt you had responded perfectly! haha😉

    Anywho, dont you think that a new british record and such an amazing event like the olympics should warrant 2 young nerdy looking lads wanting to have a photo with you, and not the other way around ? :p

    On a more serious note, its great to hear that you so openly refused to take drugs from that guy, sets a real example, as it can be somewhat easier (though no more right of course) to do such things at events like those. Good read yet again and look forward to your next installment😀

    oh and p.s dont worry about not knowing who the guy from one direction was, 90% of the adult population dont either😉 lol

  2. It’s great to see you are making the most of your post Olympics time! And you’re lucky to have had such great weather at the festival too!
    Tent living is so hard, after a night or two, all I want to do is get a nice shower and my bed haha
    Keep on blogging🙂 And maybe add a picture or two next time?

Leave a Reply

